Starburst Media City Festival

Starburst Media City Festival

Starburst Media City Festival

Easily customize your share description with the Shindig theme!


The STARBURST Fantasy Awards 2017

The STARBURST Fantasy Awards are the heart and soul of The STARBURST International Film Festival. Putting a much needed spotlight on the talent currently emerging from genre cinema.

This years categories are to be announced shortly, but in the meantime let’s recap what happened last year…

The STARBURST Fantasy Awards 2016

The STARBURST Fantasy Awards were held on Sunday 28th August 2016 in Manchester, getting off to a flying start. A good time was certainly had by all, from the guests such as Steve Pemberton, Toby Whithouse, John Glen, Peter Lamont, Virginia Hey, and Katy Manning to the scores of independent filmmakers who travelled from all over the world to support the screenings of their films.

The event culminated in a fantastic awards ceremony in which the most outstanding productions and talent were celebrated. The competition of entries was very tough, and every film screened deserved commendation. STARBURST thanks all the filmmakers and their cast and crew for contributing to making this year’s festival such a success.

There was also a special Hall of Fame Award, which was presented to Red Dwarf co-creator Doug Naylor, in recognition of his contribution to the genre and cult entertainment.

The awards were presented by original STARBURST publisher Dez Skinn and current editor Jordan Michael Royce. It was presided over by comedian and Big Finish voice actor Charlie Ross, and was sponsored by Horror Channel.

And the winners were:

Best Performance:
Darren Travers (Don’t You Recognise Me?)

Best Short:
Amor Fati (director: Thomas Morelli)

Young Filmmaker:
Parts (director: Naqqash Khalid)

Best Feature:
Good Tidings (director: Stuart W. Bedford)

Independents Day Award:
Christian Nicolson (This Giant Papier Mache Boulder is Actually Really Heavy)

Hall of Fame Award:
Doug Naylor (writer / creator Red Dwarf)